About the Committee

The Security Council is the commission of the United Nations, which has a primary responsibility, according to the UN charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. The council is structured to be able to function continuously, and a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at the United Nations headquarters, to handle any situation that appears as an emergency.

Under the charter, all members of the United Nations agree to accept and carry out the decisions of the Security Council, while others organs of the United Nations make recommendations to governments. The council by itself has the power to take decisions which member states are obligated under the charter to carry out.

When a dispute leads to fighting, the council first concern is to bring it to an end as soon as possible. It also sends United Nations peacekeeping forces to help reduce tensions in trouble areas, keep opposing forces apart and create conditions of calm in which peaceful settlements may be sought. The council may decide on enforcement measures, economics sanctions or collective military action.

A State that is a member of the United Nations but not of the Security Council may participate without a vote; in its discussions when the council considers the countries interests are affected. Both members of the United Nations and non-members, if they are parties to a dispute being considered by the Council, are invited to take part, without a vote, in the council’s discussions; the council sets the conditions for a non-member State. The presidency of the council rotates monthly, according to the English alphabetical listing of its member States.

The Security Council is composed by 15 to 20 member states; 5 of them have category of Permanent State; those are United States of America, China, United Kingdom, France and Russia. Those permanent 5 always have a place in the Security Council and veto rights.



Topic A: Situtation of the Republic of Turkey.

Topic B: The Weaponization of Social Media.


Download the guide of this committee by clicking the following link: